BassLesson_Background Bass_logo youtube twitter follow facebook KrisRodgers Bass_twitter_profile

Paypal Email:

paypal-donate BassLesson_Background

The Bass Major Scale

What are root fifths and octaves? How do I play the scale? What does it mean? What are intervals? Need it all explained? Then watch on.


The supporting documentation to this vid, is below this vid


Oh, and this lesson is worth looking at if you want to learn your notes!




Supporting documentation!

Hello guys. This is just supporting documentation for people that have watched my video, explaining the Major scale.


Ok, firstly here is the Major scale, In C, tabbed out:







Go up the scale, and then work your way back down it again. Let the notes ring out for a short while. Not too long though, and not too short, like we do in my funk vids.


The Whole step-Half step relationship.



R-2 2-3 3-4 4-5 5-6 6-7 7-8


As I mentioned in the vid, a Whole-step is equal to two frets, and a half step isequal to one fret between two notes.


In any major scale the half steps occur between the 3rd and 4th and 7th and root.


Ok, the notes on the bass fret board are as follows. Don’t forget that these notes repeat themselves after the 12th fret!


Above are notes, and notes with sharps. These sharps can also be known as flats. These notes are known as Enharmonic notes as they are called different names, but sound the same. I haven’t written down the flats here, aserI couldn’t figure out how to do the little flat sign on my computer! Lol, sorry!


Don’t forget to do all the scale using all the notes that are mentioned above. Use the diagram I showed you on the video to learn what notes you are playing, and try to commit them to memory


The Interval structure:


If we count the notes as we go up (Don’t forget that “up” is in terms of sound.) our scale, we will see that C-D-E-F-G-A-B-C is equal to Root-2-3-4-5-6-7-Octave. Intervals mean the distance between the root, and any number within our scale. Try to get used to calling the first note the “Root”, rather than “one”.


And here is our Interval structure:


1: Root (R)


2: Major second (2)


3: Major Third (3)


4: Perfect fourth (4)


5: Perfect fifth (5)


6: Major sixth (6)


7: Major seventh (7)


8: Octave (8)


I hope this video and short documentation has been a help to you. Feel free to ask me any questions you may have in my forums!